Hungary is a landlocked country in the Carpathian Basin of Central Europe with a mostly plain territory. It is a member of the European Union and of NATO and its capital is Budapest.
Known as Pannonia in Roman times, the region was settled by the Huns in the 5th century AD. A number of kingdoms developed over the centuries. In 1526 Hungary was conquered by the Ottomans and remained under Ottoman rule until the early 18th century, when the Turks were expelled and Hungary became part of the Habsburg empire. Hungary became again an independent country after World War I. After World War II Hungary became part of the Warsaw pact and had a centrally planned economy. Starting from 1990 Hungary is making the transition to a market economy. Its current goal is to become a developed country by IMF standards.
How to get to Hungary
The main international airport is the one in Budapest. Hungary is connected to the European rail and road network.
Hungary has countless accomodation options, bookable via the international booking portals.
Budapest photo gallery  - 76 pictures of Budapest
Sopron photo gallery  - 30 pictures of Sopron
Lake Neusiedl photo gallery  - 13 pictures of Lake Neusiedl
76 images of this beautiful former capital of the Habsburg empire along the Danube river
30 photos of Sopron, a Hungarian city at the border to Austria with an Austrian heritage
13 photos of lake Neusiedl, a shallow lake at the border of Austria and Hungary
Balaton lake photo gallery  - 20 pictures of Balaton lake
Heviz photo gallery  - 37 pictures of Heviz
20 photos of lake Balaton in the Hungarian plains, the largest lake in central Europe
37 photos of Heviz, a spa town in Hungary, not far from the Balaton lake
Debrecen photo gallery  - 36 pictures of Debrecen
Hortobagy national park photo gallery  - 58 pictures of Hortobagy national park
Kecskemet photo gallery  - 39 pictures of Kecskemet
Pecs photo gallery  - 67 pictures of Pecs
Szeged photo gallery  - 52 pictures of Szeged
36 photos of Debrecen, the second largest city in Hungary
58 photos of the Hortobagy national park, a large steppe area in the Puszta plains of eastern Hungary
39 photos of Kecskemét, a small city in central Hungary with many Art Nouveau buildings
67 photos of Pecs, a city in southern Hungary with a rich cultural and historic heritage
52 photos of Szeged, a pretty city in southern Hungary with a large university
Eger photo gallery  - 46 pictures of Eger
46 photos of Eger, a small city in northern Hungary with a historic castle
Gallery with all images
Here you can enter a comment or suggestion. Leave your email address if you would like to receive a reply.
Related travelogues
  • Vienna - Budapest 2003: a brief visit by car to the two former capitals of the Habsburg empire in June 2003
  • Poland Ukraine Hungary 2021: a month spent in Leipzig, northern and eastern Poland, western and central Ukraine and most of Hungary except for Budapest
Page viewed 19587 times since 03.08.2006
©Copyright Alfred Molon