The Plaza de Espana is a large semicircular square, bordered by buildings which continually run around the edge of the semicircle. It is located between the parks of Maria Luisa and Prado de San Sebastian, not far from the Guadalquivir river. The Plaza de Espana was built in 1928 for the Ibero-American Exposition of 1929 in neo-renessaince architectural style. A colonnade extends along the semicircular border of Plaza de Espana. Most buildings are nowadays used by the Andalusian government. The Palace of San Telmo is a historical building in Sevilla built in 1682 in Baroque style on the eastern bank of the Guadalquivir river. Nowadays it is used as the seat of the presidency of the Andalusian Autonomous Government. The university of Sevilla was founded as the Colegio Santa Marķa de Jesus in 1505. It is a top-ranked university in Europe.
01 Palacio de San Telmo palace 02 Palacio de San Telmo palace 03 Palacio de San Telmo palace 04 University of Sevilla 05 University of Sevilla
06 Gardens with palm trees 07 Porta de Aragon gate 08 Tower 09 Colonnade 10 Colonnade 11 North tower
12 Colonnade 13 Colonnade 14 Plaza Espana 15 aza 16 Plaza Espana
17 Plaza Espana panoramic view 18 North tower 19 Plaza Espana 20 Plaza Espana
21 Bridge 22 Plaza Espana panoramic view 23 Teatro Lope de Vega theatre 24 University of Sevilla
25 University of Sevilla
Page viewed 18684 times since 21.09.11
©Copyright Alfred Molon