Northern Africa is the northern part of the African continent, bordered to the north by the Mediterranean sea and to the south by the Sahara desert. According to the UN definition it consists of Algeria, Egypt, Libya, Morocco, Sudan, Tunisia and Western Sahara. Northern Africa includes the Maghreb (Algeria, Morocco, Tunisia and Libya). The region is mostly arid or desertic. Except for the Atlas mountains in the west and the Ahaggar and Tibesti mountains in the south, the region is mostly flat. Northern Africa is populated mainly by Berber, Arab and Egyptian people and the predominant religion is Islam. One of the most significant civilisations of the ancient times, the Egyptian civilisation, developed around the Nile river valley starting in the fourth millenium BC.
Egypt photo gallery  - 1068 pictures of Egypt
Morocco photo gallery  - 701 pictures of Morocco
1068 photos of Cairo, the Pyramids, the National Museum, Luxor, Aswan, Abu Simbel, the Nile, the western desert oases and the the Red Sea coast around Hurghada
701 photos of Morocco, an Arabic country in northwestern Africa with breathtaking sceneries and a rich culture
Algeria photo gallery  - 540 pictures of Algeria
540 photos of Algeria, the largest north African country
Here you can enter a comment or suggestion. Leave your email address if you would like to receive a reply.
Page viewed 40236 times since 18.07.2009
©Copyright Alfred Molon