Nicosia, also known as Lefkoşa, Lefkosia or Λευκωσία, is the divided capital of Cyprus. The northern part is the capital of Northern Cyprus, a state only recognised by Turkey, while the southern part is the capital of southrn Cyprus. With a total of 320000 inhabitants in the motropolitan areas of north and south, it's the largest city on Cyprus.
The area of Nicosia has been inhabited since 2500 BC. Nicosia became the capital of Cyprus in 965 AD when it joined again the Byzantine empire. The historical core of Nicosia is surrounded by a circle of Venetian walls. Inside, Ledra street crosses the old town from south to north. The south is considerable cleaner and better developed than the north, while the north has more tourist attractions than the south.
01 Supreme court building 02 Old men having coffee 03 Supreme court building
04 Venetian coat of arms 05 Venetian column 06 Asmaalti cafe 07 Buyuk Han entrance 08 Buyuk Han masjid 09 Buyuk Han
10 Buyuk Han 11 Buyuk Han inner court 12 Buyuk Han colonnade 13 Arch
14 Medieval lapidary museum 15 Church of St Catherine 16 Church of St Catherine 17 Church of St Catherine 18 Buyuk Han
19 Buyuk Han 20 Buyuk Han 21 American university 22 Arabahmet culture and arts centre 23 Armenian church 24 Armenian church
25 Armenian church roof 26 Armenian church 27 Armenian church clock tower 28 Gate 29 Zahra street 30 Cat
31 Zahra street 32 Kelebek restaurant 33 Selimiye mosque 34 Selimiye mosque 35 Selimiye mosque
36 Bedestan 37 Selimiye mosque 38 Selimiye mosque 39 Selimiye mosque 40 North south Nicosia border 41 Slippers
01 City walls 02 Ledra street 03 Ledra street 04 Yellow postbox 05 Panagia Phaneromeni church
06 Ayios Antonios church 07 Ayios Antonios church 08 Archbishop palace
09 Archbishop palace 10 Archbishop palace 11 Coat of arms 12 Archbishop palace
13 St John cathedral 14 St John cathedral 15 Solar water heater 16 Taht el Kale mosque 17 Ledra street 18 Ledra street
19 Ledra street 20 The Mall of Cyprus
Page viewed 676 times since 24.07.22
©Copyright Alfred Molon